FAST FACTS
Easy-to-use Tips and Facts to Assist the Oahu Visitor


 

Population: 876,156

Area: 596.7 square miles

Average Temperature (in Honolulu): 77.6 degrees

Average Possibility of sunshine: 88%

Average Rain (at Honolulu International Airport): 7.10 inches

Major Hurricanes to hit Oahu: None in more than 50 years

Hours of daylight
- 10 hours and 50 minutes on Dec. 22
- 13 hours and 26 minutes on June 21

Major Waterfall: Kaliuwaa (Sacred Falls), 3000 feet

Major Summit: Kaala, 4,003 fet feet


Time Difference: Noon in Honolulu


JUNE
DECEMBER
Los Angeles 3 pm 2 pm
Chicago 5 pm 4 pm
New York 6 pm 5 pm
London 11 pm 10 pm
Tokyo 7 am (the next day) 7 am (the next day)
Sydney 8 am (the next day) 9 am (the next day)

Number of visitors to Hawaii (2000): 6,948,595

Number of visitors to Oahu (2000): 4,719,246

Most popular visitor attraction in state: USS Arizona Memorial

Largest number of golf courses in state: Oahu with 36 courses:
- 7 Military
- 6 Municipal
- 23 private

Largest miles of sandy beaches in state: Oahu with 50.3 miles

Largest number of surfing sites in state: Oahu with 594

Largest zoo in state: Honolulu Zoo, where in 2002, 584,320 people saw some 303 different species

Largest number of Historic sites in State: Oahu with 287 sites

Last major earthquake on Oahu: June 8, 1984, in the ocean 80 miles south of Honolulu

Highest total of streets and highways in state
: Oahu with 1,547.56 miles (36 percent of total miles of roads in state)


(Source: State Data Book – 2000)